Mesolithic Times

Posted: January 9, 2009 in Archaeology

From the number of hits I get on my essay “Mesolithic Times,” it appears to be the most popular essay so far.  I’m not sure what accounts for that, but it has motivated me to keep working on it.  Accordingly, I’ve added a new section called B)  Material Culture, plus I’ve updated some of the discussion of the Flood/post-Flood boundary, a difficult subject to untangle.   The paper “Mesolithic Times” can be found under the Archaeology category to the right.

 

Vern

Comments
  1. Beata Smith says:

    Dear Mr. Crisler,
    This is a bit off subject, but I do not know otherwise how to contact you.
    I am publishing a book with Winepress Pleasant Word, and would like to include one of your articles. About two or three years ago, I was sent an excerpt of Planetary Transgression from Lambert Dolphin. I would like to ask for your permission to use your article, “Secrets of the Ice Age,” in the appendix section of my book. The purpose of my book is to refute the ice age, and in particular, the post-flood ice age. I would appreciate your reply.
    Many thanks,
    Beata Smith

  2. Vern Crisler says:

    Hi Beata,

    Please feel free to use the selection “Secrets of the Ice Age” from the essay “Planetary Transgression.” I’ve updated it and you can find the essay under the Creation & Evolution category over on the right side of my blog.

    As you can tell if you’ve read the updated essay, I don’t have a hard and fast position on the subject of the Ice Age, or when and whether it occurred. Therefore, I’ll be looking to read your book when it gets published. Have you run the manuscript by Answers in Genesis or ICR or the Creation Research Society? If so, did they have any helpful discussions with you?

    Thanks much for reading, and please link your blog or website if you reply.

    Blessings,

    Vern

  3. Beata Smith says:

    Hello, Mr. Crisler.

    Thank you for your answer. I will use your updated version as you suggested. I am looking forward to being able to send out some copies of my book.

    I have in the past sent letters to AiG, ICR, and I think also to CRS, but to no avail. They are comfortable with their position. AiG sent one of my letters to Michael Oard, who gave a short response, but he did not seem too interested. I think that, unfortunately, once these high-charged ministries get their momentum going in one direction, they resist changing gears, even if it makes more sense. That is why I have written the book. Funny, sometimes creation ministries can mimic the same disagreeable behaviors from secular science, which makes them come out looking just as hypocritical as those they are blaming. It is a shame, isn’t it? But I’m still so glad that they do exist and do further the literal truth of Genesis, and hence, the true Christian faith.

    Sorry, I do not have a website any longer, since it takes too much time for me…my children do all the blogging, also, but I may work on one after my book is out…Otherwise, I see that there is very much else to read, for instance, on your own website, so thanks for all the work that you do and that you have done!

    The book has been sent for its final review by the publisher, so it should be finished very soon. I will send you a copy or two as soon as I can.

    Thanks again,
    Beata Smith

  4. Vern Crisler says:

    Hi Beata,

    Sorry to hear that your discussions with creation ministries did not go well. BTW, on rereading H. W. Clark’s “The New Diluvialism” I noticed that he places the Flood/post-Flood boundary at the fourth glacial period, the first three being regarded as diluvial or Flood phenomena, the last as post-Flood. I think most others place the boundary at the beginning of the Pleistocene, so there does not appear to be unanimity among Flood theorists.

    In any case, I’m looking forward to your book, and would like to review it as well. Thanks for your work in this area Beata!

    Vern

Leave a Reply

