The Trouble with Lew Rockwell

Posted: December 16, 2009 in Military

The Lew Rockwell website is very good if you want to learn about economics:

http://www.lewrockwell.com/

But it cannot be trusted on any anything else, whether on Abraham Lincoln or foreign policy.  Here’s a critique of the anti-war libertarians that I might have worded differently, but I agree with the substance of the essay.

http://www.politicalbyline.com/2009/12/14/lew-rockwell-slanders-the-military%e2%80%a6-again/

Someone should take it upon themselves to write a comprehensive critique of purist, anarchist libertarians.  Someone needs to read them out of polite political conversation in this country in the way that Whittaker Chambers read Ayn Rand out of the conservative movement.

Vern

Comments
  1. Chris Baker says:

    Whittaker Chambers did not “read Ayn Rand out of the conservative movement.” Ayn Rand accurately predicted that the greatest attacks on her book would come from the right. Ayn Rand rejected the conservative movement because she was above them.

  2. Vern Crisler says:

    Speaking of reading Ayn Rand out of conservatism, I tried reading her once but found it devilishly hard going. On Rand and her cult of rationalism, see:
    http://www.city-journal.org/2009/bc1111df.html

    Vern

  3. John A. says:

    Hey, I am thoroughly appreciating your site. I do not find many original thinkers (I mean that in a good way) who can operate outside the box.

    I don’t agree with everything you say, but what’s great about outside-the-box folks is….it’s alright. We’re not defending the box! Hence one can engage in honest discussion.

    I read LewRockwell everyday….but I have a different take. (smile)

    I would say it’s pretty useless on economics and some historical issues……

    And yet pretty good on Foreign Policy and I’m a big fan of Vance on the military (even though he wrote a rabidly anti-Calvinism book) and Fred Reed is one of my favourites though I don’t often recommend him. Not everyone would appreciate his humour.

    I too am against the Neo-Confederates in Reformed Circles. I detest Lincoln, but I don’t defend the Confederacy either. DiLorenzo is not reliable. I don’t trust historians with such blatant agendas. Shenandoah with Jimmy Stewart is the Civil War film I recommend.

    Anyway, I’m enjoying the topics you write about and wanted to drop a note telling you I disagree on one point, but want in general to encourage you!

    Peace,

    John A.

Leave a comment